1. Bilbo Baggins said something …..

Artist Impression of Executive Outcomes Logo

Bilbo Baggins said something along the lines that one ought to be very careful when one steps out of ones door, as one never knows where one may end up. I stepped out of the proverbial door with the intention of getting horribly drunk at the local pub, which was conveniently with in walking distance. This I was doing when someone I had a nodding acquaintance with 10 years back in the army, walked into the pub. We were both not working, me by choice because I had just sold my house and inherited a nice sum of money. Trevor because he could not find work at that time. Anyway, Trevor had heard that somewhere in Pretoria, a company was looking for men with operational experience, to train troops in some African country and they were paying very well, in Dollars! He had a contact name, Sgt. Pelsur, a company name, Executive Something, and a bloody telephone number that he was too scared to act on. Well, I’m not known to be a person that sits on my hands, so after a good few drinks off we went to my girlfriend’s house to make the call. All went well and an appointment was set up for the following day. This, by the way, was Monday.

Lent Trevor some money for petrol and some booze, an we both tried to find our old army records. Charmain came home and was told the news. She took it quite well but the 17-year-old, Samantha, was none too happy. The next morning, after my customary breakfast of a six-pack and a few shots of vodka Trevor, Charmaine and I set off to find “The House”. There, in a normal street in an ordinary suburb we found it. Easy enough. The only indication that something was not kosher was huge satellite dishes in the back yard; back in the days before DSTV remember? We went in met the Sarge got the pay structure and signed a minimum of year contract. The contract was to train troops in a foreign country, with money paid into a bank account of our choice anywhere in the world, in Dollars. Full medical, transport to and from the foreign country provided as well as food and drink. All clothing and equipment to be provided on site and in the beginning we would have to live in tents. Easy as that. Talking to Charmaine and Mike that night I told them that the training thing was bullshit, for that amount of money, we were off to fight, but I didn’t care. We were told to bring a pair of shorts, some sandals and that was it. Everything else would be provided Right!! We were to be at Lanseria airport at 3am on Wednesday. That done we went drinking again hit Froggo’s for an afternoon session.. That afternoon Samantha was crying and saying how I was sure to be killed, how ever man in her life left her, and the like. Should mention now that my life was getting complicated at this stage. Samantha had got into the habit of climbing into bed with me every morning after her mother had left for work, just in panties and a T-shirt! I had to go, anywhere!!!! So far nothing too serious had happened, but it was coming. I went.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “1. Bilbo Baggins said something …..”

  1. limewire Says:

    lmao amazing stuff man.

    Like

  2. Cecilia Siregar Says:

    Hi,this is really a damn good shirt,I like the damn good style and the tones.bill

    Like

Leave a Reply

