10. In another sloppy tent I could see what was our magazine.

Colobus Monkey

In another sloppy tent I could see what was our magazine. Two tiffie types were half-halfheartedly cleaning a well-used machine gun, in the tent was precious little, certainly not the 50 assault rifles one would expect. We were divided up into our specialties, to get to Longa one had to have a special training or have told some convincing lies at The House. So I met my fellow Mortarists, and in the typical army fashion they were all pretty mellow guys. One was a divorced, unsuccessful lawyer and he got his 15 minutes of glory a couple of years later, on Special Assignment, even though he was one of the first to resign when we went operational. The Mortar crew had also only being there for a couple of weeks. The time had come to meet the troops we were hired to train. As we walked up to the training area I got a better idea of my surroundings. Our base was spread about 500m or more, along a huge river that looked deceptively slow moving. This was Rio Longa; it still had 6 km to run into the sea. Along the bank were lush green reeds and huge Mango trees. On one memorable occasion a couple of hippo came through those reeds to inspect our camp. It was in the middle of the night and they crashed through a few tents before returning to the river, never to be seen again. Not that I blame them, the Executive Outcome chaps, on a whole were quite ugly and they had screamed awfully loud! The other animals that came to visit us were some monkeys. They were black but had a heart shaped white ring around their faces. The reason they cam was to eat mangos, there were a lot of mango trees near the river. One bright spark decided to throw a mango at them, big mistake. They returned fire and their in accuracy was made up by sheer volume and speed at which they threw green mangos back.

On a whole we saw very little wild life of the larger variety, mainly insects of the extremely large variety. A few guys had to be casavaced because of spider bites and scorpion stings. Strangely enough my scorpion sting while painful did not upset my nervous system as it did to the other guys. One morning, very badly hung over, I was too lazy to put my boots on and stumbled along the path to the Mess for coffee. On the way I felt an excruciating pain in my little toe, as if someone was putting a cigarette out on it. My first thought was I had stepped on someone’s cigarette butt, then saw a whitish small scorpion scuttling off. As I say, everyone that had been stung by these little chaps got seriously ill, I waited for the inevitable. Apart from minor swelling, my little toe became my big toe, and nothing really happened. It must be all the vodka acting like a serum! On a scale of pain it was high up, much worse than a bee sting, about three times worse than a wasp, but Mickey Mouse when compared to an Adder bite. So far that is the only references I have managed to collect, but I am still working on it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “10. In another sloppy tent I could see what was our magazine.”

  1. Gregory Despain Says:

    Hello Guru, what entice you to post an article. This article was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    Like

  2. waynebisset Says:

    Exactly what subject was that Gregory? Seems you trying to sell civilian tents, had a look at the site you are punting. Must say they are absolutely useless in the situation this story is about. What, a bright pink tent in a war zone?

    Like

  3. Team Roster Says:

    You you should change the blog subject 10. In another sloppy tent I could see what was our magazine. The Mexican's Lifestyle to something more suited for your webpage you write. I enjoyed the blog post all the same.

    Like

Leave a Reply

