The Making of the Bottle Cottage at VeloGecko

One Man's Opinion

The Bottle Cottage on my arrival. The Bottle Cottage on my arrival.

When I arrived at VeloGecko the Bottle Cottage was already in construction, the foundations, steel frame and the roof were complete already. I learned that the idea was to build a guest cottage using as much recycled items as possible, the mainstay being bottles. The wall was build up of a few layers of rocks from the property, the front wall was about half way to the roof and made mainly out of a double row of beer bottles. Loraine and Walter will have to comment on that section of the building, I can only write down what I observed from then. Once I was involved in helping Loraine and Walter I saw that this was going to be a “fly by the seat of your pants” type of mission. Loraine had already filled some bottles with food colouring to make the back wall…

View original post 522 more words

Leave a Reply

