Short Stories – Battle School Part Two

One Man's Opinion

16

 (Due to a slight argument with the CO of Wits in the Offices pub I was no longer allowed to visit the Regiment HQ.)

Much to my surprise, the secretary of Wits Rifles phoned to ask me to take part in a Grading Ops at Lohatla. The army was now the new SANDF, run mainly by the old enemy. They did not like the Commando Units at all: a majority white Afrikaner organisation within their structure. In an attempt to disband them with a minimum of fuss, the powers-that-be decided that each unit would be evaluated. If they did not come up to scratch they would cease to exist. Now, I may have been a drunken lout, but my assessment of the Commanding Officer and his lackeys was accurate.

Carlton-Barber was the exception, and he had a deal for me. I would go with them for their evaluation but stay…

View original post 1,228 more words

Leave a Reply

