The Chronicles V -Zebito

mexican-horse-thief-amanzimtoti12

The next morning a still drunk Vaughn crashes into my room and tells me to pack my stuff immediately. I ask what the plan is and get told he is dumping me and my stuff on the N1 South. Okay. I pack but ask him to drop me at a Shebeen come eating place that I frequent. I have a small connection Zebito, His mother owns the place. She is always giving me food, beer I buy. Zebito too has little English but works out by all my kit dumped in his mom’s garden I am in shit. I manage to get it across to him that I need a place to stay. He runs off and returns a short while later with a chap that speaks both English and Portuguese.. They have a place for me to stay, for 3000 Metica (R1000 a month) it is in walking distance. Then the thing that is so common in this beautiful country takes place. An old man arrives with a beat up bakkie; people appear and start loading my kit on the bakkie. Everyone is smiling and jabbering away in Portuguese, I work out that my cousin’s staff have spread the word and  all the friendliness is more due to Vaughn’s unpopularity than my winning personality.

mexican-horse-thief-amanzimtoti14

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

Short Story

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Business News

Recommend Reading

Composite Warfare: The Conduct of Successful Ground Force Operations in Africa by Eeben Barlow

South African and Rhodesian Military Books for Sale

Advertising Opportunity

Get you business seen and made SOE friendly, fast.

Section Eight Solutions

The Mexican’s Magazines

Rhino Wars

From a Different Angle – Photography

White Genocide

Short Stories

Follow the Mexican Horse Thief Chronicles V Series Daily

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

