The Chronicles V – A Room in Mozambique

 

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti15.jpg

Zebito and I jump up on the bakkie and off we go, literally around the corner. We go down a residential street and stop at a house, like most of the houses it is rather dilapidated. There is however, a small front garden with grass and plants. I get taken around the back; here it is sand and seven huge mango trees as well as two out buildings. My new home is two rooms, very run down; window frames broken and inside walls water damaged, concrete floor. It has electricity but no bathroom. The toilet is a longdrop in the garden! Water is obtainable from a tap slap bang in the middle of the yard. I found out later it gets switched off when the main house goes to bed. There is also a round jerry build shed, this is the bathroom. One fills a tub with cold water, carries it into the shed and washes. I speak to an interpreter and let the lady of the house, Emilia, know I will be staying, just have to go to bank to get some of the car money, which I hope is paid in by now. Zebito takes me via a shortcut to the shopping centre. Thankfully the money is in and I draw enough to buy supplies, some food and cigarettes. When I get back to my new place Emilia is sitting under the mango trees drinking beer, I pay her and she sends for more beer, the Shebeen is right next door.  We sit in the shade and drink in compatible silence.

mexican-horse-thief-amanzimtoti24-2

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

Short Story

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Business News

Recommend Reading

Composite Warfare: The Conduct of Successful Ground Force Operations in Africa by Eeben Barlow

South African and Rhodesian Military Books for Sale

Advertising Opportunity

Get you business seen and made SOE friendly, fast.

Section Eight Solutions

The Mexican’s Magazines

Rhino Wars

From a Different Angle – Photography

White Genocide

Short Stories

Follow the Mexican Horse Thief Chronicles V Series Daily

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

