The Chronicles V – The Brickmaker

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti19

During this time I got very sick, I think it was malaria again, I was so sick I could not even drink! My bed was just my sleeping bag on a bare concrete floor, not too comfortable. Cindna came in a few times a day, bringing me iced water and trying to get me to eat some food. After about four days I could eat a little and that afternoon I had a few beers with Emilia. I was definitely on the mend. I am sitting under the one mango tree in the yard, it is just after 9am and I estimate the temperature to be about 28C already. The vegetable market arrives!

One woman with a HUGE sack on her head, a baby tied to her waist and with two small kids in tow. The smaller kids are carrying buckets and the girl child too has a sack on her head. Another man arrived at the same time and started digging a deep whole in the middle of the garden. Meanwhile business is being conducted with that funny lettuce stuff, tomatoes and onions. Other than in the Shoprite, a South African style store and Vaughn’s house I had yet to see a potato in Mozambique.

The man is now using the sand he has dug out to make cement, he has brought a cast to make airbricks! He does this with alarming speed and in this heat; he is not a young man either. He is producing about 2 a minute. The brickman has been busy the whole time, no food and I did not see him drink anything. He has made 110 bricks from 2 bags of cement, in 4 hours. For this he got paid 100 Metica. That is about R35. Not much by anyone’s standards. He washes himself and his equipment, sits and chats with Emilia for a while, then loads his spade and brick making machine into his wheel barrow. He buys a beer at the Shebeen next door that is 20 of his Metica gone.

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti237

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

Short Story

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Business News

Recommend Reading

Composite Warfare: The Conduct of Successful Ground Force Operations in Africa by Eeben Barlow

South African and Rhodesian Military Books for Sale

Advertising Opportunity

Get you business seen and made SOE friendly, fast.

Section Eight Solutions

The Mexican’s Magazines

Rhino Wars

From a Different Angle – Photography

White Genocide

Short Stories

Follow the Mexican Horse Thief Chronicles V Series Daily

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

