The Chronicles V – Trading

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti25

I go back to Caroline’s Shebeen. Zebito is not around. I wait and wait; I have 10 Meticais and tell Caroline I want to buy a tomatoes. She says, “No”, and takes the money. She also takes my hand and leads me to the yard behind the Shebeen, indicates that I should sit down next to her old mother; she says she will make me a salad. Her mother and I know each other and the old lady seems to like me. With a lot of hand signs the old lady lets me know that salad is not filling enough and she will make me some rice. I tell her, “Nao, nao, nao.” Okay, so I get a cabbage, onion and tomato salad, lots of vinegar no salt. I also get a glass of hot sugar water with half a lime floating in it.; with a bit of Pao, as usual to round the meal off.  I was full so asked the women to give the rest to a small child that had been sitting quietly with us the whole time. The old lady ate it herself. Shortly after that she asked me to buy her a Fanta.

Zebito arrived with a wheelbarrow of cokes; I had enough Meticais to buy him one last coke. Zebito must have been between fourteen and sixteen years old, he worked like a man, pushing carts of beer over the pitiful roads was very hard work. He also went to school. I said my goodbyes to Carolina and her mom, they worked out I was going back to South Africa. The guy with the swap deal was still not about. Another chap offered me 100 Meticais for the monitor, I told him 200 and he was getting the best deal of his life. All this in broken Portuguese, English and what ever else we were speaking. Done deal.

Mexican Horse Thief-Amanzimtoti4 (2)

View the Mexican Horse Thief’s Page

A Short Story by Wayne Bisset – eBook

THE MEXICAN HORSE THIEF I – ANGOLA

Business News

Advertising Opportunity  Section Eight Solutions

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

